FUNK & SOUL [Archive]

Posted on Updated on

Every now and then I like to open up the archives and reminisce about a couple tracks you may or may not have heard.  It’s a little break from the usual flow of newer stuff one might find on here.  So for the first installment I wanted to highlight the best funk and soul tracks to flow my way this past year.  I know that’s a pretty bold statement considering the amount of tracks tossed up.  This list is pretty subjective anyway. Each bring their own unique style to the genre. Real classy, I hope you enjoy em all.

Gwen McCrae was first introduced to me by my friend and local DJ, MEGAPHONETEETH.  I think it came to him through the gems located on beat electric. This track is produced by Steve Alaimo for T. K. Prod., released in 1974 and is damn tasty.

Gwen McCrae – 90% of Me Is You

Electric Wire Hustle was a relatively new stumble for me that happened a couple months ago.  I think I was just doing some random internet surfin and stumbled into a gem.  I should have bought a lottery ticket that day.  Oh well, at least I have this for the rest of my life.

Electric Wire Hustle – They Don’t Want

Raphael Saadiq is another piece introduced to me by MEGAPHONETEETH.  What can I say, the guy has an ear for finding funk, soul, and jazz delights.  When he showed it to me he described it as ‘a young michael.’  Do you agree?

Raphael Saadiq – 100 Yard Dash

Demis Roussos is another amazing soulful funk track I found last year while working on my last project.  I simply love the vocals in this track.  The horns, funky bassline all add different dynamics that made it easily one of my favorites and easiest to post.

Demis Roussos – I Dig You

BONUS!

Alright, while this is a little electrified rework it still has those delicious soulful elements.  DCUP always know how to hit the spot.  Another one from the archives but it’s just so damn good!

Jazzanova feat. Ben Westbeech – I Can See (DCUP Remix)

If you have any tracks like these that you think others will enjoy, e-mail us or toss up a comment with the track info!

Leave a Reply

